Natural Gas
Kyoto Protocol
State Owned Enterprises
State Owned Enterprises
State owned entities reporting to the Minster of Energy
Provide related services in support of the Department's mandate through funded and non-funded statutory bodies and organisations.
Measurable Objective 
Enhance the Department's objectives through policies and directives, promoting its legislative mandate and leading to the creation of an environment conducive to investment and the improvement of the quality of life of South Africans.
Governance Arrangements 
The Minister of Energy has oversight responsibilities over the following five (5) State Owned Entities (SOE) and their subsidiaries which are either classified as schedule 2 or 3 in the PFMA. The enabling legislation requires the Minister to appoint members of the boards of all state owned entities reporting to the Minister of Energy. All board members, with the exclusion of CEOs, are non-executive. The Department is represented on all of these boards, with the exception of NERSA (the independent energy regulator). Boards are ultimately accountable and responsible for the performance of the entities. They give strategic directions to the entity in line with the mandate and this is in turn implemented by management.
SOE Links Regulators
National Nuclear Regulation National Energy Regulator
Research and Development
Nuclear Energy Corporation
of South Africa
Central Energy Fund Goup
The Petroleum, Oil and Gas Corporation
of South Africa
  National Radioactive Waste Disposal Institute
  Closing 30 August 2019
SOE Nomination Form Nomination Form
SOE Nomination Advert Nominations of Suitable Candidates to serve on The Board of The National Nuclear Regulator
  Chief Executive Officer
  Closing 23 August 2019
SOE Nomination Form Nomination Form
SOE Nomination Advert Nomination of candidate to serve as Full-Time Regulator Member: Designated to be primarily responsible for Electricity for The National Energy Regulator of South Africa (NERSA)
  Nominations of candidates to serve as Part-Time Regulator Members for The National Energy Regulator Of South Africa (NERSA)
Energy Sources
Petroleum: fuel price, focus areas, domestic influences...
Natural Gas: Governance, International agreements, developments...
Electricity: Independent power producers, supply industry, free basic electricity...
Coal: Reserves, production, carbon sequestration...
Renewable & Alternative Fuels: Includes hydropower, solar, wind, biomass...
Nuclear: Non-proliferation, safety, technolgy, IYNC, WiNSA...
Acts & Legislations
Policies and Legislation: Acts, policies, regulations, legislations...
Programmes & Projects
national electricity plan...
installation of 1 million solar water heaters by
processes, systems and structures...
DNA: Kyoto Protocol, CDM...